Vlossom - My Friend (EP)

3 Apr 2020



Nick Littlemore and Alister Wright Unveil the Creative Realms of Vlossom on Debut EP


The music of Vlossom is an entry into another world, a wonderland both beautifully futuristic and profoundly elemental. A newly birthed collaboration between Australian musicians Nick Littlemore (PNAU, Empire of the Sun) and Alister Wright (Cloud Control), Vlossom symphonize elements of pop and psych-rock and electronic music into something strangely multisensory—a body of work possessed of its own distinct texture and temperature and colour and perfume, euphoric and often trance-inducing yet undeniably transformative.

Having offered the first glimpse into their world-bending with their debut single “Catch Your Breath” in late 2019, Vlossom now release their debut EP, “My Friend” and lead single “Missing You”. “The whole EP represents the start of what’s become a huge part of our lives, both in actual work but moreover in a greater understanding and greater reward living through nature and sacred practices,” explains Littlemore. “We hope to bring back from the distantly close dimensions some force of joy and love, like flowers opening over and over again, like the first breaths of spring, to the clearest azure summer day and into the early autumn warmth.”

In dreaming up the songs set to appear on their forthcoming debut EP, Vlossom drew inspiration from brilliantly disparate sources: the soundtrack to the original Blade Runner, neo-expressionist painter Peter Max, Miles Davis’s late-’70s output, Riane Eisler’s cultural anthropology text The Chalice and The Blade. As they shaped their endless fascinations into their first batch of material, Littlemore and Wright embraced a joyfully unchecked boldness. “The reason we write so many songs so quickly is that we’re always just going towards the songs—saying yes, moving forward, trusting in the moment that we’re sharing, melting into the experience,” notes Wright.

In each new piece that Vlossom create, that energy manifests as a benevolent effervescence, one that ultimately leaves the listener with a renewed sense of wonder. “If we can impart anything to people, I hope it’s that feeling of losing yourself in a moment, stepping outside of yourself in the best imaginable way,” says Littlemore. “In a world that’s increasingly hard to navigate and understand, I think it’s so important to have those moments of levity and beauty and positivity, with the hope that maybe some of that feeling might carry on into the rest of your life.”

Vlossom’s debut EP “My Friend” will be released on April 3rd, 2020 via Nick Littlemore and Peter Mayes’ newly launch label, Lab78.

“My Friend” EP tracklisting:

  1. Catch Your Breath

  2. My Friend

  3. Missing You

  4. Gotta Prepare For This

  5. Tabs

  6. Triplets 


VLOSSOM - My Friend EP